Basketball Champs, Cheer Finalists, State Scholars Honored by Board

Basketball Champs, Cheer Finalists, State Scholars Honored by Board

PHOTO: Members of the Elm Middle School 7th- and 8th-grade boys basketball teams display their conference championship trophies. Scroll down for more photos.

At its Feb. 22 regular meeting, the District 401 Board of Education recognized students from Elmwood Park High School and Elm Middle School for their academic and athletic achievements.

The Elm 7th- and 8th-grade boys basketball teams were honored for winning the 2017 Leyden-Norwood Athletic Conference tournaments in their respective brackets.

The EPHS competitive cheerleading team was honored for qualifying for the 2017 IHSA state finals.

Eighteen EPHS seniors were honored for being selected as Illinois State Scholars, an award that goes to students who rank academically among the top 10 percent of seniors in the state.

Board President Mrs. Mary Bruscato presided over the meeting. She was joined by fellow Board members Mrs. Susan Capraro, Mr. Frank J. Parisi, Mrs. Lauren M. Platt, Mrs. Andrea A. Sciullo, Mrs. Cynthia A. Stazzone and Mr. Peter A. Volpe. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kevin M. Anderson introduced each group of students and their coaches or sponsors.

Elm Boys Basketball

PHOTO: Players and coaches from Elm's championship 7th- and 8th-grade boys basketball teams were honored by the District 401 Board of Education on Feb. 22. Click photo for larger version.

Elm 7th-grade boys basketball team won the Leyden-Norwood Athletic Conference (LNAC) tournament championship Jan. 26 at Giles School, defeating Mannheim 24-21. The victory raised the Cougars’ final record to 12-1.

The 7th graders were coached this season by Dwayne French and his assistant coach, Taylor French. Isaac Chachon and Davian Davis served as managers. The players were:

Colin Barile, Zachariah Dahhan, Jacob Diaz, Nic Digiolia, Frank Guiglio, Larry Hardimon, Ivan Martinez, Avian Matos, Kiano Movagh, Damian Nowik, Damian Pagan, Jackson Pederson, Jacob Perry, Christian Rodriguez, Andrew Vargas.

Also on Jan. 26, the 8th-grade team won its conference title 51-36 over Hester. The 8th graders finished their season with a 13-0 record. 

They were coached this season by Mr. Roger Falk. Darion McDonald and Robert Perez served as managers. The players were: 

Arbert Aquino, Josh Colon, Julian Davila, Jimmy Dohoney, Ethan Flores, Gabe Garcia, Aiden Hernandez, Kyle Maggioncalda, Luciano Marchiori, Jerimiah Moton, Damian Rosales, Joe Scheidt, Michael Velazquez.

This was the fourth straight year in which at least one Elm boys basketball team has won an LNAC championship. In 2015-­16 and 2014­-15, Elm’s 8th-­grade teams went 13­-0 and took home the LNAC title. In 2013­-14 the 7th-­grade team finished 13­-0, earning top honors in the conference.

EPHS Competitive Cheerleading

PHOTO: Members and coaches of the EPHS state finalist competitive cheerleading team were also recognized by the Board of Education in February. Click photo for larger version.

The EPHS competitive cheerleading team placed third in the Medium Team category of the IHSA sectionals held Jan. 28 at James B. Conant High School in Hoffman Estates.

The sectional performance qualified the team for the IHSA state finals held Feb. 3-4 in Bloomington. 

Although the team didn't advance past the Feb. 3 prelims, the squad members are optimistic about their chances for next year because the entire team will return.

This year's squad was coached by Heather Grendzinski and her assistant coaches, Nicole Tobey and Bob Pacini. The team members were:

Bianca Alvarez, Felicia Diprizio, Kayla Diprizio, Aliyah Hernandez, Madlyn Kornatowski, Brianna Krzeminski, Laura Martin Del Campo, Suehailey Montanez, Janneza Morales, Jaritza Morales, Sabrina Sanchez, Klaudia Siembab, Dena Stranski, Caitlin Wickstrom.

Competitive cheerleading is a rigorous sport in which the athletes are judged on a rubric that assesses how well they perform such skills as jumps, tumbling, pyramids/tosses, partner stunts and motions/dance.

Illinois State Scholars

PHOTO: Also at the February meeting, the Board of Education honored the academic achievements of EPHS's Illinois State Scholars. Click photo for larger version.

This year 18 EPHS seniors were named Illinois State Scholars in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements.

The honor, conferred by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), goes each year to those students who rank in the top 10 percent of the state’s high school graduating seniors.

State rankings are based on a combination of ACT or SAT test scores, class rank at the end of the sixth semester, class size and unweighted grade point average (GPA).

The EPHS honorees were: 

Elias Arce, Kassandra Mae Babelonia, Gregory Baranovskiy, Kyle Garcia, Analise Hernandez, Yuriy Khlopas, Adrian Lach, Andriana Melnychuk, Rocco Molinelli, Antonina Pisciotto, Sarah Ptack, Jacob Sulaski, Gabriela Sulek, Kevin Taha, Alexa Tully, Tatiana Uram, Aleksandra Witkos, Jakub Zwierzynski.

While the State Scholars program does not provide a monetary award, the designation can be listed on applications for college admission and scholarships.

Back to Elm News & Announcements