Elm Welcomes 2022-23 National Junior Honor Society Members

Logo of the National Honor Society

PHOTO GALLERY: Use this link to access more photos of Elm's NJHS ceremony.

Elm Middle School's chapter of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) recognized 20 new members during an induction ceremony held Tuesday, May 3, in the school's main gym.

Congratulations to this year's inductees, all of whom are in 7th grade:

  • Madeline Carine
  • Angelia Freidin
  • Nicole Gorka
  • Valeria Hernandez
  • Melony Howe
  • Nella Iversen
  • Willow Jenkins
  • Zayd Lahlou-Nabil
  • Vanessa Mendoza
  • Olivia Padilla
  • Margaux Prater
  • Madison Ranallo
  • Sofia Rodriguez Figuera
  • Max Ryczek
  • Sarah Scheidt
  • Kiley Scoleri
  • Samantha Tripoli-Carpino
  • Iva Trlaja
  • Martyna Turek
  • Donald Yu

The NJHS is open to students who have met five criteria:

  • Scholarship
  • Service
  • Leadership
  • Character
  • Citizenship

This was Elm's 31st annual induction of NJHS members. English teacher Ms. Molly Hong and social studies teacher Mr. Christian Hartwig are the school's NJHS advisers.

NJHS members

ABOVE: Elm Middle School's newly inducted members of the National Junior Honor Society display their certificates. D401 photo by Dave Porreca (click image to enlarge).

The basic scholarship requirement is a cumulative average of B or better. Students must demonstrate appropriate conduct, and they can have no suspensions from school (in-house or out-of-school suspensions).

Academically eligible candidates are notified and informed that for further consideration they must complete the Student Activity Information Form (SAIF), in which they are asked to outline their accomplishments in the areas of service, leadership, character and citizenship.

Selection is made by a faculty council consisting of five Elm staff members.

NJHS induction ceremony

ABOVE: The newest members of NJHS listen as current chapter president Isabella Wernsing talks about the year in review. D401 photo by Dave Porreca (click image to enlarge).

The 2022-23 class of inductees joined the following 8th graders who were inducted last May as the 2021-22 NJHS class:

  • Eva Bucknell
  • Camilla Budzyna
  • Isabella Martinico*
  • Laura Ruiz Celis
  • Fathima Safdary
  • Ewelina Swiderski
  • Margaret Utter
  • Jose Velazquez
  • Paulina Waz*
  • Izabella Weiss*
  • Isabella Wernsing*
  • Maximilian Ziuzia

*Denotes elected officer

Molly Hong addresses NJHS members

ABOVE: NJHS co-sponsor Molly Hong addresses Elm's newest members as co-sponsor Christian Hartwig looks on. D401 photo by Dave Porreca (click image to enlarge).

Since 1929, NJHS has been the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle school students.

Membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

Each year Elm’s NJHS chapter completes one or more community service projects in which all the members of the chapter are involved.

Projects can be oriented toward improving student leadership, working with senior citizens, providing some learning about other cultures or performing some school service.

More Photos from NJHS Induction 2022-23

NOTE: The following photos were taken at the 2022-23 National Junior Honor Society induction ceremony held May 3, 2022, at Elm Middle School. All photos are by Dave Porreca, D401 web/media specialist. More photos from the ceremony are available here.

NJHS ceremony

NJHS ceremony

NJHS ceremony

NJHS ceremony

NJHS ceremony

Back to Elm News & Announcements