2019-20 School Year Holidays


District 401 schools will be closed for students on the days listed below. These include generally observed holidays as well as breaks and student non-attendance days specific to D401.

For more information, please see our official school-year calendar PDF for 2019-20.  

The list of holidays for 12-month District 401 employees is available here.


DATE

HOLIDAY / REASON FOR TIME OFF

Monday, Sept. 2, 2019

Labor Day

Monday, Oct. 14, 2019

Columbus Day

Friday, Nov. 8, 2019

No School | Conference Exchange Day *

* No school for students and teachers; day off for staff
who work the extra set hours for parent-teacher
conferences (excluding custodians)

Wednesday, Nov. 27–Friday, Nov. 29, 2019

Thanksgiving Break

Monday, Dec. 23, 2019–Friday, Jan. 3, 2020

Winter Break

Monday, Jan. 20, 2020

Martin Luther King, Jr., Day

Friday, Feb. 14, 2020

No School | Conference Exchange Day *

* No school for students and teachers; day off for staff
who work the extra set hours for parent-teacher
conferences (excluding custodians)

Monday, Feb. 17, 2020

Presidents' Day

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

No School | Teacher Institute Day *

* No school for students; attendance day for teachers
and District 401 staff

Monday, March 23–Friday, March 27, 2020

Spring Break

Friday, April 10, 2020

Alternative Pulaski Day Observed

Monday, May 25, 2020

Memorial Day *

* This is a holiday for students only if emergency days
must be used beyond Friday, May 22. The final day of
school is Thursday, May 21. Emergency days have been
scheduled for May 22 and May 26-29.