Illinois State Scholars: EPHS Seniors Recognized for Academic Excellence

Elmwood Park High School's newest Illinois State Scholars gather for a group photo.

Elmwood Park High School's newest Illinois State Scholars gather for a group photo. Scroll down for a larger version as well as a caption identifying the students. (District 401 photo by Dave Porreca)

Eighteen Elmwood Park High School seniors have been named 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars in recognition of their outstanding academic accomplishments.

The honor, conferred by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), goes each year to those students who rank in the top 10 percent of the state's high school graduating seniors. 

Last year, 24 Elmwood Park seniors received the honor, which is announced each fall.

The selection of Illinois State Scholars is based on a combination of ACT or SAT test scores, class rank at the end of the sixth semester, class size and unweighted grade point average (GPA). Detailed information about how Illinois State Scholars are selected is available here at the ISAC website. 

While the program does not provide a monetary award, the designation as an Illinois State Scholar can be listed on applications for college admission and scholarships. 

Congratulations to the following members of the EPHS Class of 2019:

► Ian Babelonia
► Elizabeth Barajas
► Kersten Brayton
► Karolina Castillo
► Elliot Caterer
► Philip Chmielowiec
► Morgan Clucas
► Kristopher Diallo
► Stephen Konrath
► Emmie Larson
► Sebastian Macias
► Rachael Merlos
► Dominik Pudlo
► Alexandra Raszyk
► Julian Rivera
► Jacob Rotolo
► Jocelyn Velazquez
► Hubert Witkos

Each student designated as a State Scholar receives a congratulatory letter, a certificate of achievement and statewide recognition in the news media.

"The combination of students' exemplary college entrance examination scores and record of high school achievement indicate an especially high potential for success in college," according to ISAC. "To be named an Illinois State Scholar is an outstanding accomplishment that will be a highlight of the recipient's academic record."

Announcement of all Illinois State Scholars will be made available online at ISAC's website,, in early December. The online listing will display each State Scholar alphabetically by high school, within the school's Illinois county.

EPHS seniors who were named 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars gather for a group photo.

PHOTO: Seventeen of the 18 EPHS seniors who were named 2019-20 Illinois State Scholars recently assembled for a group picture in the school lobby. From left: Karolina Castillo, Jocelyn Velazquez, Elliot Caterer, Ian Babelonia, Elizabeth Barajas, Hubert Witkos, Alexandra Raszyk, Kristopher Diallo, Kersten Brayton, Emmie Larson (seated), Sebastian Macias, Rachael Merlos, Jacob Rotolo, Stephen Konrath, Philip Chmielowiec, Julian Rivera and Dominik Pudlo. Not pictured: Morgan Clucas. District 401 photo by Dave Porreca (click image for larger view).  

Back to EPHS News & Announcements